Modelling:Television

Creating the Television model for the child’s room

 

 

Reference images used to create the TV model.


 

 

I stated the modelling process using the ‘Quad Draw tool’ under ‘Mesh tools’ in the Modelling menu to create a rough version of the frontal face. In addition I duplicated half the mesh on the x axis by a value of -1 in scale under ‘Duplicate Special’ ( I also changed the geometry type setting to ‘Instance’ as all the changes I would make to one half of the mesh would be inherited be the other half as I worked.

saw1

I continued by creating an inwards edge around the mesh and continued to extrude it backwards on the Z axis.

saw2

Continued to extrude backwards (and slightly outwards) on the Z axis.

saw4

Smoothing mesh preview to check the orientation of my edge loops.

saw3

By selecting several vertices, I gradually move them outwards to create the outward curve around the edge of the TV’s face aligning it with the reference image.

saw5

With the front of the TV blocked out, I continued extruding the faces backwards using the side reference as help.

saw7-1

Continued extruding based off the side reference image.

 

saw8

I then started to model a basic version of the vent like openings, typically found at the side of a TV from the early 2000’s

saw9

Added additional details to the back, by extruding faces inwards and upwards. (y and z axis)

saw10-1

 

saw10

Happy with the current mesh I then combined the original mesh with the instanced mesh and merged the vertices.

saw12

Coming to the end I used various cylinders to create the buttons and audio jack ports.

saw12-1

Addition of more buttons.

saw11

Finally to create the screen, I used a black plane, with a ‘Mia’ mental ray material applied to it and a preset of thick glass.

 

 

Final Outcome

 

Leave a Reply

