Modelling: Alarm Clock

Modelling the alarm clock for the parents room

 

51CevmgXsUL._SY300_

 

 

Reference Image Used


 

I started off by creating a cylinder, and deleted a face, revealing the inside. After which I extruded its exposed edge inwards and backwards, eventually using the fill hole function under Mesh , this would act as the outer shell of our clock.

alarmclock1

 

Adding edge loops to ensure n N-gons were removed from the newly created internal face made in the previous step. In addition I duplicated the body of the clock and scaled it down to match the design of the reference image.

alarmclock2

 

I also started creating the bell like objects typically found at the top of the clock  , Created using a sphere which was then halved.

alarmclock3

The bottom edges where then extruded inwards and upwards against the out faces of the mesh.

alarmclock4

I repeated these steps to create the secondary object bell shaped object on the other side of the clock.

alarmclock5

Starting to make the handle across the top of clock, I created a plane and modelled it around the screw like object at the top of the bell, I duplicated it across to the other side as well.

alarmclock6

 

With the the faces mirroring each other of each plane selected, I used the bridge function to connect the together, found under Edit mesh. (each plane was combined before the bridge function was used)

alarmclock7

 

 

alarmclock8

Next, I created the little hammer using a (you guessed it) cylinder,  I then added three edge loops around the outer surface and extruded one face into the body of the clock.

alarmclock9

The hands of the clock were created using an extrude plane, which were then modified to resemble the hands accordingly.

alarmclock10

 

Coming to the end, I modelled the feet of the clock using and extruded cylinder

alarmclock11

The small support stand at the back of the clock was made using a cube after which I modified its verticies to achieve the shape I wanted.

alarmclock12

Finally, to create the glass of the clock I used a cylinder, deleted all but one face and extruded it outwards slightly to achieve the curved effect of the glass

alarmclock13

 

Final Result

Leave a Reply

