Animating A Run Cycle

Using the 13 frame Run cycle from the animators survival kit as reference, I started blocking out the basic leg movements of a run, not focusing on the exact positions of the feet and legs but the pace at which they were moving at:

Happy with the pace of the leg movement, I started to refine it, fixing the position of the feet and motion of the legs in their Up, Passing, down and contact positions. Also adding a slight bounce to the hips.

 

I then continued the cycle adding polish to the lower body. In addition I added a rough twist to the torso and chest, rotating and alternating them side to side with each contact position. Blocked out the starting positions of the hands and arms and adding rotations to the shoulders on the Y axis to add a little bit of weight to the characters pose.

 

Run Cycle: Attempt One

13 Frame Run Cycle

However, despite following the reference provided by Richard William’s almost entirely, something seemed really off about the animation. It seemed too quick in my opinion, so I asked the team for some feedback on how I could polish or fix it.

Feedback:

  • Kerry suggested I slow it down
  • Edward said the head is a bit static and that I should try to move it more, not by a huge amount but just so that it looks like its reacting with the movement of the body.
  • Sorcha made a point referring back to the research I carried out earlier on a run cycle, the fast the cycle, the more forward his upper body leans.

I was really happy with the feed back back given, I took the advise, slowed it down,made the head less static and leaned the upper body forward more to emphasis the speed of the run.

Before I put the last nail in the coffin I wanted one last bit of feed back from the team based off the adjustments made.

I put together a short video of the run from multiple view points so they have a better view/idea of what’s happening in the cycle.

Edward pointed out that the arms seem a bit too close to the body from the front view and suggested moving them out from the body more.  Upon further study of the cycle I realised Edward was right, bring the arms out more on the x axis.

Final Result can be seen below:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

